
21 NCAC 32S .0219 PHYSICIAN ASSISTANT PRACTICE AND LIMITED LICENSE FOR 

DISASTERS AND EMERGENCIES 

(a)  The Board shall waive requirements for licensure in the circumstances set forth in G.S. 90-12.5. 

(b)  There are two ways for physician assistants to practice under this Rule: 

(1) Hospital to Hospital Credentialing: A physician assistant who holds a full, unlimited, and 

unrestricted license to practice medicine in another U.S. state, territory, or district and has 

unrestricted hospital credentials and privileges in any U.S. state, territory, or district may come to 

North Carolina and practice medicine at a North Carolina hospital that is licensed by the North 

Carolina Department of Health and Human Services upon the following terms and conditions: 

(A) the licensed North Carolina hospital shall verify all physician assistant credentials and 

privileges; 

(B) the licensed North Carolina hospital shall keep a list of all physician assistants coming to 

practice and their respective supervising physicians and shall provide this list to the Board 

within 10 days of each physician assistant practicing at the licensed North Carolina 

hospital. The licensed North Carolina hospital shall also provide the Board a list of when 

each physician assistant has stopped practicing medicine in North Carolina under this 

Rule within 10 days after each physician assistant has stopped practicing medicine under 

this Rule; 

(C) all physician assistants practicing under this Rule shall be authorized to practice medicine 

in North Carolina and deemed to be licensed to practice medicine in the State and the 

Board shall have jurisdiction over all physician assistants practicing under this Rule for 

all purposes set forth in or related to Article 1 of Chapter 90 of the North Carolina 

General Statutes, and such jurisdiction shall continue in effect even after any and all 

physician assistants have stopped practicing medicine under this Rule; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice under the direct supervision of an on-site physician 

and the supervising physician must be licensed in this State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) a physician assistant may practice under this Rule for the shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date the physician assistant has started practicing under this 

Rule; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate authority is made that the emergency or disaster 

declaration has been withdrawn or ended and, at such time, the license deemed 

to be issued shall become inactive; and 

(F) physician assistants practicing under this Rule shall not receive any compensation outside 

of their customary compensation for the provision of medical services during a disaster or 

emergency. 

(2) Limited Emergency License: A physician assistant who holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted 

license to practice medicine in another U.S. state, territory, or district may apply for a limited 

emergency license on the following conditions: 

(A) the applicant must complete a limited emergency license application; 

(B) the Board shall verify that the physician assistant holds a full, unlimited, and unrestricted 

license to practice medicine in another U.S. state, territory, or district; 

(C) in response to a declared disaster or state of emergency and in order to best serve the 

public interest, the Board may limit the physician assistant's scope of practice; 

(D) the physician assistant must practice under the direct supervision of an on-site physician 

and the supervising physician must be licensed in this State or approved to practice in this 

State during a disaster or state of emergency pursuant to G.S. 90-12.5; 

(E) the Board shall have jurisdiction under G.S. 90-14(a) over all physician assistants 

practicing under this Rule for all purposes set forth in or related to G.S. 90, Article 1, and 

such jurisdiction shall continue in effect even after such physician assistant has stopped 

practicing medicine under this Rule or the Limited Emergency License has expired; 

(F) this license shall be in effect for the shorter of: 

(i) 30 days from the date it is issued; or 

(ii) a statement by an appropriate authority is made that the emergency or disaster 

declaration has been withdrawn or ended and, at such time, the license issued 

shall become inactive; and 



(G) physician assistants holding limited emergency licenses shall not receive any 

compensation outside of their customary compensation for the provision of medical 

services during a disaster or emergency. 

(3) physician assistants and physicians practicing pursuant to this Rule are not required to maintain 

onsite documentation describing supervisory arrangements and instructions for prescriptive 

authority as otherwise required by 21 NCAC 32S .0213. 

(4) National Guard supervision waiver. The rules of this Subchapter are waived during a declared 

state of emergency by the Governor of the State of North Carolina or by a resolution of the North 

Carolina General Assembly for members of the North Carolina National Guard who are actively 

licensed as physician assistants in the State of North Carolina and are serving in a State Active 

Duty status. 

 

History Note: Authority G.S. 90-5.1(a)(3); 90-12.5; 90-13.2(e); 90-14(a);  

Eff. September 1, 2009; 

Amended Eff. November 1, 2010; 

Pursuant to G.S. 150B-21.3A rule is necessary without substantive public interest Eff. March 1, 

2016; 

Emergency Amendment Eff. October 2, 2018; 

Emergency Amendment Expired Eff. December 14, 2018; 

Amended Eff. July 1, 2019. 

 


